Close this search box.

RCB lifts it’s First WPL Trophy in 16th Years of the Franchise Existence

RCB's winning 11 in the final against DC

RCB lifts its First WPL Trophy in 16th Year of the Franchise’s Existence. yes! It happened. In the second season of WPL 2024, Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Mumbai Indians in the Semi-Finals and advanced to the Finals. The finale is played at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on 17 March at 7:30 p.m. Both the teams had reached the Finale for the first time, so the fans were super excited to witness this classic match. RCB lifts its First WPL Trophy in 16th Years of the Franchise Existence. Smriti Mandhana led RCB and on the other hand, Meg Lanning led Delhi Capitals (DC).

Picture Credit: RCB


Toss and Pitch Details

Delhi Capitals had won the toss and decided to bat first. The pitch of Arun Jaitley is good for batting. The condition there helps batters a lot. The pitch there is dry and provides short boundaries. This ground recorded many extended boundaries from batters easily. The spinners also get favored here.

RCB AND DC ‘s Team Performance

RCB lifts it’s First WPL Trophy in 16th Years of the Franchise Existence, RCB’s bowling performance led RCB to win today. Meg Lanning and Shefali Verma played an outstanding knock at the beginning, it was a good start though the team could not perform well to score runs. Verma scored 44 runs off 27 balls.  Mandhana got out at 15th over. Delhi Capitals struggled in the finale to score a good run; in fact, they lacked in building a solid partnership as well. RCB’s bowlers like Sophie Molineux and Shreyanka Patil took three and four wickets, respectively. Perry kept going and won the match with Richa Ghosh. Royal Challengers Bangalore qualified for the WPL Playoffs for the first time in 2024 after finishing third in the Points table. Their journey to the final included a one-run win against Mumbai Indians in the Eliminator match, which showed their ability to compete at a high level and secure a spot in the second season of WPL.

Coming to Delhi Capitals, Lanning’s team has started well, yet they lost. Batting first, Delhi started strongly, scoring 64 runs off seven overs without losing a single wicket. Their first wicket fell at 64, but after that, the batting lineup crumbled like a house of cards.


RCB and DC’s Squads

RCB’s squad for the 2024 WPL season includes vital players like Smriti Mandhana as the captain and international stars such as Heather Knight from England, Ellyse Perry from Australia, and Sophie Devine from New Zealand. These players bring experience and skill to the squad, contributing to their performance and success in the tournament.

Smriti Mandhana (C), Sophie Molineux, Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Indrani Roy, Shradda Pokharkar, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Sophie Devine, Georgia Wareham, Ellyse Perry, Kate Cross, Ekta Bisht, Renuka Singh, Shubha Satheesh, S Meghana, Simran Bahadur, Nadine de Klerk.

Meg Lanning(c), Shafali Verma, Taniya Bhatia(w), Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodrigues, Annabel Sutherland, Jess Jonassen, Annabel Sutherland, Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav, Marizanne Kapp, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Titas Sadhu, Ashwani Kumari, Aparna Mondal, Laura Harris, Sneha Deepthi.


Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has finally done it. RCB lifts its First WPL Trophy in 16th Years of the Franchise Existence. The Smriti Mandhana-led women’s WPL team takes the honor. It was a fantastic dominance over Lanning’s Delhi Capitals squad. Sophie Molineux is the game twister as she dismissed Shefali Verma and running out Radha. The orange cap holder is Ellyse Perry on the other hand the purple cap holder is Shreyanka Patil. Whereas, DC’s Shikha took one wicket, Arundhuti’s catch is one of the turning points of this match. But Richa and Perry were confident enough to win it for their team. The post-match conversation was pretty cool with the teammates, they said there were no such plans, but simple and they did exact same. But Meg Lanning the captain of Delhi Capitals seems weeping after the lost. Hence, the fans of RCB are super happy to support their team.




Tania Mukherjee
Author: Tania Mukherjee

Tania Mukherjee is an author. Immersing herself in the world of Entertainment and expressing her thoughts along with her feelings through the power of the written word. With a deep passion for writing, she finds solace and fulfillment in conveying her ideas to others.

Leave a Comment


  • Make My Home
  • pelli poola jada