Close this search box.

Indian Women Cricket team announces T20Is squad against Australia

Indian Women Digital

Indian Women Cricket team won by eight wickets against the Australian women’s cricket team. On Monday, the Indian Women’s cricket team announced their T20IS and ODI squad against Australian women. Meanwhile, Shreyanka Patil called for the ODI squad.



Indian Women
Picture Credit: Smriti Mandhana Xaccount of Indian Women

The young talents, Shreyanka and Saika Ishaque, have earned their spots in the ODI squad after showcasing their skills in the T20Is against England. Interestingly, their journey to national recognition started through their performances in the 2023 Women’s Premier League (WPL).

Where Shreyanka played for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Ishaque represented Mumbai Indians (MI). This suggests that their standout performances in the domestic T20 league caught the selectors’ attention, paving the way for their inclusion in the national team.

Additionally, the young pacer Titas Sadhu, who previously featured in India’s U19 T20 World Cup squad, has been named in both the ODI and T20 squads. However, it indicates the selectors’ confidence in his abilities and potential, considering his recent experience at the U19 level. It’s a testament to the talent development pipeline, where promising players from the youth level are given opportunities to transition into the senior national team.

Overall, it’s an exciting mix of emerging talents who have showcased their skills in domestic and international youth tournaments and now have the chance to make a mark at the highest level in the ODI and T20 formats. The recognition of their performances in premier leagues and youth competitions highlights the growing importance of these platforms in identifying and nurturing talent for the national stage.

Harmanpreet Kaur’s recent achievement is historic, as she became the first Indian captain to lead the women’s cricket team to victory against Australia in Tests since 1977. The memorable win, secured by eight wickets, unfolded at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This victory reflects Harmanpreet’s leadership prowess and marks a significant milestone for Indian women’s cricket against one of the top teams in the world.

As the cricketing action continues, the focus shifts to the limited-overs series. The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will host the three ODIs on December 28, 30, and January 2. With its rich cricketing history, Wankhede adds nostalgia and prestige to the upcoming one-day matches.

Following the ODIs, the T20Is will be held at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai on January 5, 7, and 9. The Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, known for its state-of-the-art facilities, will provide an exciting backdrop for the shorter format clashes.

The choice of these iconic venues ensures a high-quality cricketing experience and adds to Mumbai’s cultural and cricketing heritage. In the 1977 Women’s Tests, Harmanpreet became the first Indian captain to defeat Australia. In Mumbai at the storied Wankhede Stadium, India triumphed by eight wickets.

Indian Women win a test

India Women’s impressive victory over Australia Women in the one-off Test match in Mumbai is a testament to their exceptional skill and determination. On Day 4, India chased a target of 75 runs with a composed performance, reaching 75/2 in just 18.4 overs.

Smriti Mandhana played a crucial role in the chase, contributing an unbeaten 38 off 61 balls. Her composed innings ensured that India reached the target comfortably and sealed the win. Overall, it was a fantastic performance by the Indian Women’s team, and they deserve all the credit for their hard work and dedication.

Indian Women Squad ODI series 

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Jemimah Rodrigues, Safali Verm,a, Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia (WK), Richa Ghosh (WK), Amanjot Kaur, Shreyanka patil, Mannat Kashyap, Saika Ishaque, Renuka Singh Thakur, Titas Sadhu, Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Ranna, and Harleen Deol

Indian Squad T20IS against Australia 

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia (WK), Richa Ghaosh (WK),Amanjot Kaur, Shreyanka Patil, Mannat Kashyap, Saika Ishaque, Renuka Singh Thakur, Titas Sdhu, Pooja Vastrakar, Kanika Ahuja Minnu Mani.

Source Link:

News Shot 24
Author: News Shot 24

Leave a Comment


  • Make My Home
  • pelli poola jada
  • Best News Website Development Company in India